Wedding Woes

Is it possible I have dress regret?

No, I don’t think so at all, but a week ago when David’s Bridal called me to say my dress was in, I was shocked to say the least.  I purchased it on labor day weekend and it took less than two weeks to come in.  I was told it would come in December.

I tried my dress on in the store, and I fell in love with it all over again.  I look so beautiful! The dress is stunning and I can’t wait to wear it. I just don’t know when that will be.  Ugh.

I will say this…I probably should have waited to buy it.  Or not.  I’m really torn on this one. Because the dress was about to be clearanced, that meant it would not be made anymore, and my chances of finding one would be slim to none.  I’ve lusted after this dress, and other’s like it, for months, and I always came back to this one after looking at similar dresses.  My reasoning behind thinking I should have waited, is that I forgot about a possible deployment and moving when I handed over my debit card to purchase it.

Andrew leaves in two months, and we won’t find out about a deployment for a while yet.  If he gets deployed, that means our wedding will possibly have to be in 2014 rather than 2013.  What in the hell was I thinking buying a dress so soon? Dammit!  I don’t want my dress sitting in my closet for over a year, is that even normal? Do brides do that? I’m mad at myself to be honest.  But then on the other hand, if I hadn’t bought it, it would have been gone.  And this dress suits me so well, and I would have been sad if I had missed out.  It’s my dream dress.

If he’s deployed, he wants the kids and I to move to Kansas before he gets back.  Yep, me move to Kansas all by myself with the kids and the pets. HAH! That would mean giving up on having a wedding and doing a JOP thing, but I don’t want to do that.  I have a wedding dress! That would mean I’ve wasted $652 and I will have a pile of lace and satin sitting in my closet forever and ever.  I’m sure he’s going to read this blog, as he always does, lol, so my plan is this…if we have to get through a deployment, then my girlfriends and I are going to plan the fastest wedding ever and get it done BEFORE a deployment.  We can take our honeymoon when he gets back, but that’s not so important anyway.

If he is deployed, then the kids and I will just stay here in WA till the deployment is over, and move after the wedding. Basically our July plans for next year, will just be postponed till a couple of months after he gets back. That does mean however, that the kids will probably have to transfer schools mid year, but such is life.  That is the Army way, and we will get through it.  It’s bound to happen to us again.

Lesson learned? don’t buy a wedding dress so damn early.  In the long run though, at least it wasn’t thousands of dollars, and I didn’t buy some amazing Pnina Tornai dress, right?