The Best Bomb-Diggity Baked Potato Soup…EVAR!!

Yesterday I had a wicked craving for some good hearty soup, so I went on google and searched for the best recipe I could find.  I found one and modified it, and my husband and kids LOVED it.  The man so much so that he didn’t add hot sauce, and in our house, that is a HUGE accomplishment.  He adds hot sauce to everything he eats. Everything.  Even plain bread.

photo (91)

Bomb Diggity Baked Potato Soup

2 sticks butter (1 cup salted or unsalted)
1 cup flour (I used unbleached flour)
2 small onions or one large onion, diced as much as you want. I like mine a little chunky.
1 heaping tablespoon, or more, minced garlic (I used probably two heaping tablespoons)
1 half gallon of whole milk, plus extra
5 large potatoes, baked and cubed (I did mine at the last minute, so I boiled till soft enough,    then let them cool and then diced them. I also used about 10 regular sized red potatoes,    unskinned)
1 pack of bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 large container of sour cream (mine was 24oz, but you can just do two cups. I also            bought light sour cream, but you can use full fat)
1 bunch of green onions, sliced
Broccoli, as much as you want. I threw in a small bag I had in the freezer
Shredded cheddar cheese, as much as you want. I probably used about a cup or so
Sea Salt to taste
Fresh ground pepper to taste
cornstarch…optional

Melt your butter in a large stockpot over medium high heat, and once melted, add the onions/garlic and sautee the onions till they are clear. Add the flour and whisk it till it’s combined and thickened so you have a nice paste going on. Slowly pour in the milk and whisk till combined (don’t forget the sides of your pan!). I didn’t think I had enough milk in there, so I just poured what was left of my fat free milk and added that as well, so about 9-10 cups of milk total.

Add the rest of your ingredients, lower your heat to medium and mix well, stirring frequently to ensure the soup does not burn. Mine was almost at boiling point, but not quite. I found it a bit thinner than I wanted, I was looking for a thicker broth, so I mixed a couple tablespoons of cornstarch with water, and then added it to the soup to help thicken it up. It worked like a charm!

Serve with a hunk of buttered crusty french bread, and enjoy!

One thought on “The Best Bomb-Diggity Baked Potato Soup…EVAR!!

Leave a Reply

