Hey, Remember Me?

Well, dare I say it, we have finally settled into somewhat of a routine here in Kansas.  Hard to believe we have been here for a month already!

It’s hot, humid, and different.  But I don’t mind it that much, and having some awesome friends has really helped with the transition.

Sometime earlier this year, I joined a few Fort Riley face book pages and got to know a few select women, just so I wouldn’t feel too much like a fish out of water once we got here.  I am so glad I did because I am not as lonely as I feared I would be.  Leaving home was a big step for me, like I wrote about many times, and I was scared for change, but I was also anxious to leave because I needed friends.  My one really awesomely good friend left last year to move to another state, and the couple of friends I thought I had completely disappeared from my life a few months before we moved.  Disappeared so much that they didn’t even come to see me off or make ANY attempts to say goodbye to me, even though they were given many opportunities.  At the risk of sounding like a sad sack, I am still dealing with a lot of hurt over that, and it has been tough for me in that aspect as I felt like they didn’t care enough to say goodbye.

The morning that we left Washington, my middle daughter’s best friend’s mom was the only one who made me cry…that was so hard.  Seeing all the kids cry (minus the boy) as they said goodbye to their best friend was heartbreaking.  Leaving our house was equally hard, and hearing afterwards that all our new neighbors hate the new tenants was even worse because it made me feel helpless and worried about the state of my home.

Moving on…

The house is great! I like a lot of things about it more than our old house, but I’d give anything to have my kitchen back, and a little extra space…just a little would be great (we gave up 250 sq feet moving here).  I love having the laundry room upstairs, and a new washer and dryer (that we bought a few months ago) too, and I love not having to worry about yard work, as that is all taken care of by the housing office here on post. I don’t love having to walk in the heat to get my daughter from school, but the exercise is good for me. I love having my husband home for dinner every night, and being able to sleep in the same bed as him, as well as making his lunch most days and seeing him in the morning after PT.  I am still getting used to having to cook a solid meal every single night, haha. I love that I randomly made another new friend just by walking to and from school, and look forward to talking with her every day! I don’t like that all my neighbors keep to themselves, and that my next door neighbor has two yappy little dogs that we all hate.  I love seeing my dogs try to catch toads on our back porch every night, it always makes us laugh, and I love the awesome storms and sunrises we get.  I do not love the hot humid heat. I miss my cat Hades so much that it’s even hard to see pictures of him that my sister sends, and I can’t wait to have him back in our house again when we move back to WA.  I jumped out of my comfort zone by a mile and joined the spouses choir here, and we are performing at the fall festival, but I am nervous as heck! I know we will do great, but I’m SCARED I will screw up or not be good enough. Lastly, and again, I am thankful for my friends here who have really helped me transition and welcomed me with open arms!

I want to get started on my New York posts, and I haven’t even been able to go through all of my pictures yet from our honeymoon. I will do my first NYC post next week, after the Labor Day holiday 🙂  After that is summed up, I will be able to share all about our July and our road trip here!  We had a great drive here, and saw some really amazing sites and made some wonderful memories.  Summer 2013 has been a few months of adventure for sure!

One thought on “Hey, Remember Me?

  1. I’m so glad you’re settling in and finding things you really like about it:). Especially friends:). The storms over there are memorable and I’ll pray no tornadoes come anywhere near you! Can’t wait to see pics from your honeymoon!

Leave a Reply

