Moving Day!!

Pardon my lack of punctuation and spelling in this post,a s well as my lack of proper grammar.  I will do my best, but am writing this as quickly as I can!  I’m on my husband’s laptop, surrounded by packing paper and boxes.

today is moving day, and with that brings a lot of emotions.

I went to pick up our uhaul trailer today and when  I came back and saw the big semi here in front of the house, I cried.  I knew this day was coming, but the past 8 months have gone by so fast and today is finally here.

Yesterday the packers were here and spent all day packing up the house.  we spent our last night in our bed in this house.  No kids were here, we ate panda express and rented a movie on amazon prime.  It was quite nice actually, but then the craziness hit today.

about an hour into the packout this morning, Andrew thought to ask the driver what the delivery date was.

Oh SNAP, it’s the day we arrive.

what the hell Bekins!

I immediately began damage control and was on the phone to the owner of the company here in Seattle, and well…we have to leave a day early.  They can’t hold our shipment.  So we’re leaving tomorrow.  shitballs.  This completely screws up our plan though, as we have to leave a day early.  Andrew went and re-booked all of our hotels, and we only had to cancel one, and find a replacement.

The owner knew they screwed up though because I had told our coordinator I could not have a delivery before Aug 2nd.  He offered to fix it somewhat, so he is now paying for someone to clean our house as we have no time to do it.  I guess  there is a silver lining in there somewhere, right? Tonight after the packout is done, we will pick up trash, vacuum a bit, paint over the nail holes that we already spackled and do whatever else we can.  I had a window cleaner in here the other day, and the blinds were clean so thankfully that doesn’t have to be done at all.

I’m so pissed off though because of how this has thrown a wrench into our plans, and made a stressful day even more stressful.  We have no food in the house, so for breakfast i ate a frozen trader Joe’s Chicken Tikka masala meal, with an aero bar.  Snack was a few handfuls of ketchup chips.  I’m so glad the kids are at their friends’ houses now and aren’t underfoot, it really helps a LOT.

We had an amazing time in NYC on our honeymoon, and I took well over 1000 photos, so I can’t wait to share those with you all once we are settled.  Give me a few weeks though…as soon as we get to Kansas, it’s time to get the kids ready for back to school.

Oy.

 

Leave a Reply

