A Graduation

Last week my oldest two children graduated from Grade 6.

I’m not usually a sappy emotional person when it comes to stuff like that, but I could  NOT hold back the tears as I watched them up on that stage.  It first started when my daughter’s best friend said her speech for everyone, mentioning how much she would miss my girl.  Then when they walked across the stage, I felt tears dripping down my cheeks.  I managed to pull myself together, but it was not an easy task.

Every parent gets sad when their children hit certain milestones, as it’s a painful reminder that they are no longer babies, but growing children moving onto bigger and better things.  It’s harder for me though, because it is a painful reminder that Barry is no longer with us.  It’s hard to stomach that he is missing every.single.major.event in their lives.   I cry for them, because they can’t look into the audience and see their daddy watching them, because he won’t be walking the girls down the aisle, because he wont see them graduate high school, college, hold our grandbabies.

It makes my heart hurt that they have to experience all of this without him by their side.

Leave a Reply

