Top 5, New York City…again?

Ok, maybe I’m running out of steam this week.  I don’t know if I should write about our honeymoon in NYC, some weird Korean skin care I just got in the mail, or random crap. Maybe a mix of all of those? Ok.

1) Korean Skin Care

I subscribe to Birchbox, and a couple of months ago on the birchbox blog, they mentioned some new Korean skin care that was becoming all the rage.  In particular, a Caolion mud mask that promises all sorts of wonderous things.  I’m a sucker for that, so I patiently waited to order the Pore minimizing pack from Peach and Lily.  It came yesterday, so I am going to use it this weekend I think to see how well it works.  I was just reading that I should have got the steam pack with it too, but oh well! I will just do it after a shower I guess.

What was really neat were all the samples that came with the package. I think I received about 7 of them!  The samples I received were Peptide 500, All in one SNAIL repair cream (good to have, just in case my snails break down or gets sick, or something), Watermax Aqua Gel Cream, Returning Starfish Cream (just in case my starfish runs away, I can put this cream on him when he comes back), and Vichum.  Oh, and I also received a Mizon Peptide Face Mask, and one time use of the Steam pack I mentioned earlier.  Peach and Lily really go above and beyond to make their customers happy!

I’m not going to lie, some of this stuff really scares me, but I will try it.  Apparently Koreans are at the top of the game with skin care, and they have some great products, so it never hurts to try.  I really want to try the peptide 500, but a full size purchase of that will have to wait as I just bought a serum from Bare Minerals that I am loving.

2) Hoteling It.

One of the hardest decisions for Andrew and I to make when we travel anywhere is where we will sleep. Yes, we’ve had disagreements on this.  I think it’s a combo of myself wanting so sleep somewhere nice, but also on a budget, and Andrew wanting to make his wife happy, but we’re both so pig headed with each other we fail to realize that we never really needed to get pissed off in the beginning.  This happens all the time, for real. We are pig headed with each other.  I think that comes from him being a bachelor for so long, and myself being so independant, even before Barry passed away…and more so now. But we always make up in the end 🙂

Anyway…hotels. Where should we stay in NYC? We have a tentative list so far that I have put together, the two favorites being Distrikt Hotel and The Bryant Park Hotel.  I’m also possibly looking at the Hilton Garden Inn in Times Square and the Waldorf Astoria (which surprisingly, is within our budget!).  I would like to stay below $300 a night, perferably with tax included in that price.  That might be a huge amount to some of you, but for a nice hotel in a central location, you need to be able to spend a little bit of money.  I think that $300 is doable for us, but I am not comfortable going much higher than that.

Any suggestions?

3) NYC Itinerary

If you’ve been to NYC, give me some pointers, PLEASE! I need help!

The “tentative” plan so far is that we will fly out of Seattle the night of July 9th and take a red-eye to JFK, and we land at 7:30AM.  We’ll either subway it, or hire a cab to take us to the hotel, and drop off our bags.  Hopefully they will have a room ready for us so we can freshen up and have a quick nap. If not, we can do a quick change in the bathroom, and go eat brunch somewhere.  Then we will be doing Central Park the first afternoon.  I really wanted us to do something “easy” on our first day so we weren’t too pooped.  We’ll find somewhere to eat, and then spend the rest of the night in the hotel probably.  We really won’t get much sleep at all the night before, unless we can sleep part of the time on the plane, so I know we are going to be tired that night.

Day 2 we plan to get up early to see the MONH (Museum of Natural History) in the morning, and then probably TOTR (Top of The Rock, aka Rockafeller Center) after lunch to see the gorgeous views.  I imagine we’ll explore the building a bit too, and we might take an NBC studio tour, not sure yet.  We have to find a great place for a pre-show dinner (I’m thinking Peter Luger’s steakhouse if we can get reservations), and then off to see Wicked for a 7PM curtain call.  After that, we’ll be in Times Square for bit, then off to the hotel.

That’s all we’ve got so far 🙂 More will come with time, but our must sees are DUMBO/walk across the bridge, 9/11 Memorial, Ellis/Liberty Island or a circle line cruise (this is all dependent on when both islands open up and if we can get tickets, opening day is set for July 4th).  I also want to go to Lauduree, Katz’s Delicatessen or Carnegie Deli, Tiffanys (hey a girl can dream, right?) and MAYBE do a bit of shopping.  I’m not too worried about shopping at all, I just want to take pictures and spend time with my husband.  We’ll probably skip the Empire State Building, but will probably see Grand Central Station and the NYC Public Library.  We’re not big art people, but the only piece I might want to see is Van Gogh’s “Starry Night” (which is my most favorite painting ever) at MOMA.  And Andrew wants to eat pizza in New York 🙂  Oh, and we will do TOTR at night too.

As for restaurants, again…we’re simple.  We just want one nice dinner out, before we see “Wicked”, and that will do us good for the entire trip.

We need an itinerary for days 3-5, and we will fly out of JFK at 7PM on the 14th.  I’m so excited to spend time with my hubby 🙂

4) De-Cluttering Challenge

Just a quick update on this, as I am sure you are all getting tired of hearing about it.  I’m almost done! I don’t know when I started it, but I know it hasn’t been 40 days yet.  Some things I am just not mentally prepared to tackle yet, like my desk.  It’s a black hole, really.  I’ll get that done eventually.

Yesterday I worked in the garage, and filled up my Honda Pilot with goodwill donations.  I’ll be dropping those off today.  Among the donations were about 350 DVDS, a dvd shelf, exercise equipment, pillows, blankets, books, and clothes.  I love just tossing stuff, it makes me happy to see less clutter.  I still have more to do in the garage, but if I do it all at once I get burnt out.  My de-cluttering will resume when we get back from our trip to Kansas!

5) I’m out of ideas for this week

I asked my husband to give me ideas for #5, and he told me to write about “the virtues of douche cleansing” and what jobs I want our kids to have when they’re older. UGH! Men!

This might be my last post for awhile unless I have free time next week, which I probably won’t It’s vacation time!! I’ll catch up again after we get back from our trip.

One thought on “Top 5, New York City…again?

Leave a Reply

