Keep Your Kids Quiet, Yo!

This SHOULD be a wordless wednesday post, but I don’t seem to know how to do those apparently. I’ll try to do better next time, and the time after that etc etc.  I’m working on it! I just wasn’t sure how to post this as a wordless wednesday post when it is after all, a bag of snacks.

Today is kind of boring, so I will show you a pic of something I whipped up here at the house a little bit ago.

photo (81)

I’ve been home sick for the last three days, and am getting restless, so I dug through my pantry to get the kids’ snack bags ready for our trip to Kansas in two weeks.

The bag on your left is a quart size bag full of asian rice crackers/snack mix that I buy at Costco.  Being the good mommy that I am, I eat all my favorite pieces out of the bag, and then let the kids eat the rest.  I’m generous like that. That is to be shared amongst all four of the kiddos.

The bag on your right is filled with all sorts of goodies.  That would be a 1/3 cup of Jelly Belly Jelly Beans (the ONLY kind we buy!) bought at Costco, three individual twizzlers, 3 dum dum pops (twizzlers and dumdums left over from the last birthday party), a tootsie pop, a fiber plus granola bar (also bought at Costco), an organic fruit bar (yes, I know, counter productive considering the amount of candy in there, but I digress…), and a cup of Costco animal crackers.  My “healthy” contribution will be to fill up a quart bag with some baby carrots, and provide each child with a non organic Fuji apple, both of which I will buy at Costco.  I like Costco, if you haven’t been able to figure that out yet.

My pet peeve is parents who can’t shut their kids up during flights.  I hate it. If you have to shove a sucker in your kids’ mouth and it’s only a year old, then DO IT. No one wants to hear your spawn whining and crying on the flight, especially when we can’t escape it.  So these snack bags are my service to my fellow travelers, I do whatever it takes to keep the kids quiet.  The suckers/lollipops, are for take off/landing, as we all get super sore ears when we fly.

I am quite proud to say, that on my last flight with the kids, I had some people compliment me on how well behaved my children were.  I really appreciated that comment, I felt like a great mom for not bothering other people 🙂  Plus, we will all have electronics. An iPod touch, Kindle Keyboard, Kindle Fire HD, and a DSI. Plus the three older kids all have iPods.  I wish we had my husband’s tablet, but that’s in Kansas.  And don’t forget books, I will probably make them take a book too.  Reading is good for your brain and/or soul, and all the kids are champion readers.

Junk food and electronics, can’t do much better than that! In my defense though,  this has to keep the kids quiet/entertained from about 6AM when we leave for the airport, till about 8.5 hours later when we land.

How do you keep your kids entertained and happy during a trip like this?

Leave a Reply

