Honeymoons…choices choices choices

You’d think I’d write about Christmas, right? Or the fact that tomorrow would be mine and Barry’s 13th Wedding Anniversary, but no…those things are better left alone. Christmas was partly a dismal failure due to my father ruining it for us all, and the only bright spot was my siblings and I having so much fun together. And tomorrow…well, what good does it do to talk about it? I’m not being cold, I just have nothing to say about it, and especially now that I’m re-married.

Today’s topic is “Honeymoon”, and where Andrew and I should go on ours.  I’m probably going out on a limb by saying this, but tonight we discussed CHINA! I’m not really sure of the reality of that, or the practicality of it, but we did discuss it.

In the race are…drum roll please…

  1. An Alaskan cruise
  2. Paris
  3. Beijing

How do we pick?

All three are on my bucket list, and Alaska and China are on Andrew’s.  They’re so much so on his, that I’ve been informed that I will have to spread his ashes off the Great Wall of China once he dies.  Guess I get to visit China twice in my life then, hah!   I want to see all three for the photography opportunities, for the adventure I will have with my husband, and the lifetime of memories we will have.

So, Alaska.  Well, since we live in the Pacific Northwest, Alaskan cruises will always be available to us. Always.  When we come back here after the  military returns us, we can go to Alaska as well.  Heck, the ships sail out of Seattle!  But then I dream about how majestic those glaciers are, how amazing it would be to see all that jaw dropping landscape off of a ship balcony.  We could walk on a glacier, take a sled dog tour, and I could watch Andrew eat all the salmon in the world while I try not to vomit (food poisoning 6 years ago, don’t ask, it was horrid). Landscape photography is my passion, and I know Alaska would offer some amazing opportunities.

Paris…what girl doesn’t dream about Paris? The Eiffel tower, eating a baguette and cheese, Sacre Couer, Montmartre, Notre Dame.  Everything about Paris is a dream come true, and I desperately want to visit there.  I am such a history buff that I am dying to go visit such a history laden area of the world, and even more so, I want to walk in the catacombs.  And visit famous cemeteries! I want to shop in the original Sephora, and drive my husband crazy as I overspend on everything.  But most of all, I want to take pictures.  I have this fantasy of taking a gorgeous black and white photo of the Eiffel tower, at night, in all it’s splendor.

China, while it does not induce as much passion in me as Paris, has been on my bucket list for probably even longer than Paris.  As a young girl, we hosted international students at our home during the summers, and though these girls were all Japanese, the thrill of Asia was beckoning to me.  I can just picture it in my head, walking along the Great Wall of China hand in hand with my half Chinese husband.  I also want to go to China for him, it is definitely some place he has to go before he dies.  Can you imagine how amazing it would be to visit the Forbidden City? Tiananmen Square? And though I’ve seen Pandas at San Diego Zoo, to see them in China would be even more amazing.  And the coup de gras for me, would be to take the best photo possible of the Great Wall of China winding off into the distance.

I would be excited to see all three of these beautiful places, and all that really matters is that my husband and I have a great time together.  But how do we decide? Believe it or not, flying into Beijing is between $600-1K cheaper for us compared to flying into Paris.

If you have been to any of these places, can you give me a word of advice? What do you recommend?

6 thoughts on “Honeymoons…choices choices choices

  1. I have heard not to do a cruise on your honeymoon because your time is very scheduled and on your honeymoon it’s nice to have no schedule. I have not been to any of those places, but I would pick china because it seems to have such meaning for you both.

    • Wow, thanks for that tip Leah! I’ve actually never heard that before, but I can see that you’re probably right. I guess I was thinking an alaskan cruise wouldn’t be as rigidly scheduled as another one, but I was wrong lol. Alaska seems so great, but I think China would be much more exciting.

  2. Rio is an ambition of mine for my 50th birthday (in 4yrs time) but a more real option would be Paris, went once for an overnight stay and flew through all the sights would love to go back and take our time and enjoy.
    Oh how exciting planning a honeymoon, keep us up to date and i’m so looking forward to the photos you take.
    As for christmas less said the better here too looking forward to the new year instead 🙂

  3. I have been to China and it was amazing. That would be my vote even though it may not be as relaxing or romantic as the others. China is developing and changing so much that the sooner you go the more traditional China you will get to see. I went in 2004 and they were tearing down the old hutongs to make way for high rises. The great wall was incredible, the summer palace, forbidden city, temple of heaven all so amazing. So different than anywhere else I’ve been. The people were incredibly friendly and I would go back in a heartbeat. I did a cruise for my honeymoon and it was fantastic, relaxed and romantic but its not China!

Leave a Reply

