I Said “Yes” To The Dress

Saturday promised to be quite a boring day as two of the kids were gone to sleepovers, and I only had my oldest and youngest daughters a home.  The Mr. was studying for his test, and I didn’t want to sit around all afternoon doing nothing. What else would we do on a saturday afternoon but go shopping?   The two girls and I went out to David’s Bridal just to get an idea and look at junior bridesmaid dresses and flower girl dresses.

We walked in the store, and when I was situated with a consultant, I told them what style I had been looking at online for quite some time.  Guess what? They had it in store!  My plans to take the girls shopping for them, turned into myself buying a wedding dress unexpectedly.  Best of all, I got it on sale!

I wasn’t too sure of it at first, and decided to try on some more traditional “white” wedding dresses.  I felt awkward in them, and they did not suit me at all, so back I went to THE dress.  As soon as I put it on, I had a moment…hard to describe, but you know when you know you’ve found your dress.  It felt perfect.  It suited me to a “T”, and complimented my figure wonderfully.

Andrew doesn’t want to see photos, and only my kids, MOH and bridesmaid have seen a photo of me in it.  I doubt I’ll even show my mother the dress until the wedding date.  Until I get married and have wedding photos to show off, the dress will be under wraps!  I can’t wait to share it with you all!  I certainly did not think I would purchase a “non-white” dress, and when I mentioned white to my mother, she about had a FIT! She actually said to me “YOU’VE HAD FOUR KIDS!!!”.  Well really mother, do you REALLY think people don’t know I’m not a virgin? I was married for 10 years, and that color tradition is so old-fashioned now.  I really didn’t care what color the dress was, but when I did try on the white, I felt out-of-place.  The color didn’t suit me, and I felt washed out.  My dress is ivory/champagne colored.

Here are some reject photos! They all looked awful on me.  I did try a couple others, but MY dress was the 2nd one I tried on and fell in love with.  As soon as I got home, I deleted all the other dress photos I had saved in order to avoid dress regret.

When you bought your wedding dress, how many did you try on before you found THE dress? Did you go with traditional white?

 

Leave a Reply

