“We’re Off To See The Wizard”

More on that title in a bit…..

I’d like to introduce you all to someone who means so much to me.  Who is an amazing person, who is caring, loving, funny and the best thing that ever happened to me. Someone who LOVES me and my kids, and is already a natural father.                 Someone who I am so incredibly, madly in love with.

This is my FIANCE, Andrew!!!!!!!!!! 

Three days after our 10 month anniversary, Andrew asked me to be his wife!  I very quickly said “YES” as soon as he said to me “Will you be mine?”.  I just love this picture of him that I took yesterday when we were hiking Mt Rainier! I could have posted a much more serious one, but this is him.  This shows his goofy perfect side, it shows the man I fell in love with a thousand times over.

The exciting thing about all of this is that I get to plan a wedding!! I get to marry the love of my life.  I’m so excited to be his wife and grow old with him.  He is my best friend, and I am so ecstatic to spend the rest of my life with such a fabulously sexy, amazing, loving, caring, silly, generous, smart man.

Let me also introduce you to my pretty sparkly…

I picked her out months ago, and boy did he pay attention! Apparently this proposal has been in the works since FEBRUARY!! We were only dating for four months then.  I’ll get some more pictures soon, but what I will leave you with is that the stone is 1.5ct!!  I am in awe of the ring, and I love it!  We’ll be picking out wedding bands in September, and our wedding should be next July sometime, but all that depends on the Army.  Our actual date probably won’t be picked till sometime between January and April.  That DOES make for a challenging few months of planning, but we’ll make it work.

My other HUGE bit of news is that we’re moving with Andrew! Can you guess why I titled this blog post “We’re Off To See The Wizard”? Because we’re PCSing to Fort Riley, Kansas next summer. Andrew has had orders to PCS since February, but did not want to tell me right away.  He made the decision to wait till our relationship was rock solid, and then proposed after he told me.  So, I was definitely a sobbing mess when he asked me to marry him (I thought he was breaking up with me!).  Andrew is leaving in December, so I am such a huge jumble of emotions right now, as I don’t know how I will be able to be without him for six months or more.  I know that IS a part of army life, and I took that on dating a soldier, but it is still a huge shock to my system.

It is going to be a huge change for our family, as it will be the first time the kids have really had a major move, and we’ll be thousands of miles away from our friends and family. There are so many different scenarios and other things we have to work through, and plan…along with planning a wedding, and moving across the country with a family of six all within the span of one month next summer. The biggest challenge for me right now is accepting the fact that Andrew and I won’t really be living together for months now, when I had expected it to happen December 1st.  We wont be spending Christmas as a family anymore, but will be separated by miles and miles.  I’m devastated by that.  But we have a plan, and it will involve lots of skype, text messages, phone calls and emails.  Andrew will also fly home every four-day weekend that he can, and I will go down to Kansas 1-2 times as well by myself.  Early in our relationship, we said that the kids would finish the school year, so that is why we decided to live apart for 6 months.  We’ll get through this, as difficult as it might be to adjust to all of it right now.  You can imagine the chaos that was our home this morning when everyone realized the reality of our life.  It’s been a hectic day to say the least.

I have a ton of posts coming up now with all this, and I can’t wait to share it all! Details about the proposal, our moving to Kansas, our trip to CA in November, buying wedding bands, other wedding planning details, and Army life.  My life has been thrown for a loop!

Gone is the life that I had, and here is a new life yet again…for the umpteenth time in the last three years. I’m embracing it with open arms!

 

 

One thought on ““We’re Off To See The Wizard”

Leave a Reply

