100 Things About Me

In my effort to write more on this blog, I figured I’d to the ever clichéd thing and tell you all 100 things about me.  But I’ll spread it out over a while, and maybe five or so posts so I don’t run out of things to say.

#1 This is me:

I took this photo in February I think.

#2.  I am 31 years old, and a widowed mother of four children.  They are 11, 11, 9 and 6.

#3.  When I was 18 years old, I met a guy on the internet.  We were married 1 year later, and had four wonderful children together before he died in October 2009.  Just 2.5 months before our 10th Wedding anniversary.

#4.  My husband and I only met in person one time before we were married. It was the day he proposed to me, and we only spent one day together. I lived in Edmonton, AB, and he was stationed overseas in Wiesbaden Germany (where we were married).  When I flew to Germany, I was there for only two weeks before we were married. So we met online Dec 98, met in person Aug 99, and were married Dec 99.

#5. I am Canadian by birth, Dutch by heritage, yet I live in the USA near Seattle.

#6. This fall I will be FINALLY getting my citizenship, and I am so excited for that.  It’s been a long time coming, and I can’t wait to finally be an actual citizen rather than just a Green Card holder.

#7.  The worst thing/things I have ever been through is watching my husband die, and having to come home and tell my kids their daddy died.

#8.  I am a VERY STRONG advocate for the Flu Vaccine with H1N1.  Simply stated, in my opinion, if you don’t get the flu vaccine, I think you’re a fucking idiot.  I don’t care if we’re friends or not, I’ll still think you’re an idiot if you don’t get it. My family included.

#9.  My 29-year-old husband died from H1N1 complications.

#10.  Photography is my passion, and I love my Canon 60D

#11.  I sleep in a king size bed 6 nights out of the week by myself, and I still sleep on only one side.  I’ve always been that way, even when I was younger and lived at home…only slept on one side of my bed.

#12.  I met my man, whom you all know as, Mr eHarmony, on eHarmony.  Duh! We’ve been dating for 6 months now!  Here are a couple pictures of us, taken back in October, on our 3d date I think.

Aren’t I a lucky girl? He’s my beefcake!

#13. I didn’t want to date Mr eHarmony at all because he is in the Army, but then I saw this photo, and I was like “Oh my, I have to get my hands on him”.  And I did.  Truth be told, it wasn’t his bulging pecs and big strong arms that won my heart, it was his sense of humor and ability to make me laugh so hard I can’t breathe and/or feel like I’m about to pee my pants.

mmmmmm….beefcake.

#14.  I love to bake cupcakes, and do it for all the kids’ birthdays, and other random occasions.  I have some photos in this post.

#15  I used to be really fat. I’m still about 70lbs overweight, but I was even heavier. I lost 4-5 pant sizes in the first year after my husband died. I’m working to lose the last 3, but it’s been quite a struggle.  I’m getting there though!

#16  I hate exercise with a passion.  Yeah, it makes me feel good, and I’m proud of myself for doing it, but I hate it.

#17  I yell too much.

#18  I’m 31 and I still laugh at farts!

#19  Somethings I won’t go cheap on.  Those include makeup, and I stick to the brands I know that work.  So, Clinique for my foundation and coverup. MAC for my eyeshadow/mascara, and various other brands for other things.  Oh, and I think that Benefit’s Erase Paste is the best thing since sliced bread.

#20  My favorite perfume is Saint by Kat Von D.  Thanks to my sissy poo for buying me that and getting me hooked on it!

#21  l love to read, and once I find a good book, you can’t tear me away from it.  Hunger Games anyone?

#22  I need more female friends, I’m lonely a lot of the time.  But I also have trouble reaching out and making said friends; I hate to seem vulnerable and in need of/asking for help etc, even more so now since my husband died.

#23  I’m a really good cook and baker.

#24  One of the things I hate the most is being an only parent.  It’s also one of the hardest things I’ve ever done/am doing.  Talk about the weight of the world on your shoulders.

#25  I believe everything tastes better with bacon.

 

2 thoughts on “100 Things About Me

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

