What Do You Eat?

The Biggest Loser group I’m in officially started yesterday, so today begins the day I eat healthier.  I’ve been trying to do that for the last couple weeks, and have lost about 5lbs already, but I’m on the road to losing a lot more.  As much as I can actually, in the next 8 weeks.  May 8th is the final weigh-in, so I’m hoping to lose a good portion by then.

Here’s the thing though, I don’t want to go on some crash diet, I want to lose the weight sensibly by eating right and exercising.  I already do OK with my exercise; I have a personal trainer come three days a week and we work out for a half hour.  I try to fit cardio in as much as I can, but let’s face it; I despise cardio.  Cardio is something I have to push and push and PUSH myself to get done.  I get cardio in usually 3 days a week after my trainer leaves, and I know I can do much better.  My goal is to do it 5 days a week, and then if weather permits, go for a long walk with Mr eHarmony and the kids on Saturday or Sunday afternoons.  Plus we will also be starting hiking next month, so I am looking forward to that.

My conundrum and confusion lies in my “diet”.  What do I eat? How often do I eat? Do I eat like a caveman or do I eat like a vegetarian? Do I do mostly fruits and veggies, or do I eat a high protein low sugar diet?

My friend and neighbor lost about 70lbs last year on a high protein, low sugar diet, and has kept it off for almost a year.  And you know what? She looks FABULOUS! She started off then at the same size I am right now, and she lost that in about 6-7 months I think.  Then I have a twitter friend, Dr Ghaheri, who swears by the Paleo way of eating, and has expressed his love of Bacon all over twitter.  My trainer wants me to eat lots of colorful food, and make sure half my plate is colorful veggies like greens, tomatoes, yams…that sort of thing.  And Mr eHarmony says I should follow the food pyramid, but I’m not so sure I agree with him on that one (sorry dear!), because I personally think he needs a bit more protein in his diet to maintain that beefcake body he has.

So what do you choose? What do YOU eat? I’m leaning towards a LOT less sugar, more protein and lots of veggies.  I eat some fruit, but try to eat more veggies.  Berries are a favorite of mine, and I love to make a smoothie with greek yogurt, frozen berries and spinach (and a dash of berry naked juice/smoothie to add some liquid to the mix).  I eat spinach almost every day, and tomatoes too, as well as raw almonds, and a colby-jack cheese stick.  I am on a fixed income though, and my grocery budget does not allow for me to change my diet too much from that of my kids, so I will have to just eat what they are eating and eat less of it.  Last night I made pork chops, broccoli and my version of Pioneer Woman’s crash hot potatoes.  I only had one plate, ate a lot of broccoli, and was satisfied.  Tonight I am making Ziti, which is a family favorite, and I will serve it with a green salad…no iceberg lettuce for us, I only buy spinach.

 

5 thoughts on “What Do You Eat?

  1. We’ve been itching for a cleaner, healthier diet as well. I think it’s the pending springtime that’s doing it for us, hehe. We don’t necessarily need to lose weight, but our fruit/veg intake is sadly lacking. We want to feel better, not so sluggish, and we want to make sure we’re treating our bodies properly. Starting in April (don’t ask why not till April-ugh) we’re going to start the Change One plan again, or at least, incorporate aspects of it into our diets. I’m excited.

    • I remember you doing that before, let me know how it goes for you :o) I just need more cardio and less sweets, then I’d be doing just fine. Good thing my cupcakes dont tempt me too much, I make them so much that I’m tired of eating them.

  2. All the answers are here, and I’m not just saying that: sparkpeople.com If you have an e-reader I can lend you the book The Spark (I think). Every time I’ve lost weight I’ve done it through here – best part is it’s FREE, there’s amazing support, even a young widows support group, and there’s a phone app to track. I highly recommend. It’s about portion control and food pyramid type eating 🙂 Either way, good luck! I’m recommitting to my health as well.

  3. We eat (mostly) paleo and it’s helped my husband lose weight and me gain it. We both feel fantastic! I love this diet…!

Leave a Reply

