Can Zombies Ward Off Vampires?

Well, if they’ve had as much garlic as we consumed over the weekend, I suppose they can.

I’ve been trying to expand my repetoire of recipes recently, as I’ve felt I’ve been in a slump. The same boring old food, all the time.  I wanted something new, so I made Crock Pot Chicken with 50 cloves of Garlic.

Yes. 50 cloves.  Almost 5 bulbs of garlic.

I’d been drooling over the recipe and pictures for months on Pinterest, but never got aroudn to making it until this past weekend.  Here’s where I got the original recipe from, but I adapted it to make it my own.

Instead of 40 cloves of garlic, I used 50.  And instead of using a fryer chicken, I used boneless skinless chicken breasts.  I cooked it on low in my crockpot for a few hours, and the chicken came out incredibly tender and delicious.  I also used 7 large chicken breasts to feed 6 people (including yours truly, my half asian Godzilla who is named Mr eHarmony, an almost 11 year old boy who eats as much, if not more than I do, and 3 girls), which is why I added the extra garlic.

I did not have a sieve to strain the garlic bits afterwards, but used my colander instead.  What I also did was use the flat side of a large wooden spoon, and press the buttery garlic down through the holes as much as I could to extract the juice.  The “juice” was made into a mouth watering gravy, and Mr eHarmony took some of the extra mashed up garlic and mixed it into our mashed potatoes.

Mouth watering I tell you.

I will definitely be making this again, but next time I am going to try it in the oven.  I want crispy chicken.  This was excellent for sure, but there is something really alluring about seeing that browned crispy skin of a chicken that’s been roasting in its own juices for a few hours.

Crock Pot Chicken with 50 Cloves of Garlic

7 boneless skinless chicken breasts
salt and pepper, to taste
2 tablespoons olive oil
50 cloves of garlic, peeled but still whole (about 4-5 bulbs of garlic)
3/4 cup white wine
1-2  teaspoon dried thyme
1-2 teaspoon dried rosemary
2 bay leaf
cornstarch to make gravy

1. Spray the inside of your crock pot with non-stick spray. Rub the chicken generously with salt and pepper. Place in the crock pot.

2. Heat your olive oil in a small skillet and add the peeled, whole garlic. Cook for 5-8 minutes over medium heat until the garlic is golden, then add the white wine and stir until the liquid has mostly evaporated, another 3-5 minutes over medium heat.

3. Pour the garlic and white wine over the chicken in the crock pot, and sprinkle the thyme and rosemary over everything. Add in the bay leaf. Turn the crock pot to low and cook for 3-4 hours (I did mine for 3 1/2 hours). When ready, remove the chicken and place on a separate platter, then cover with foil to retain its heat. Set aside.

4. Pour the juices from the pot through a mesh sieve into a pot, then press the garlic through the sieve to form a paste. Whisk some corn starch into the gravy to thicken it up, and cook over medium-high heat until slightly thickened, about 5-8 minutes. Serve over the chicken with potatoes, vegetables, or crusty bread and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

