The Ever Cliched New Years Eve Post, Goodbye 2011

I’m following with the trend amongst a lot of bloggers, people I know, and writing an end of year post.  I figured, what the hell, I may as well, because I’ve had a lot of crap happen this year.

2011 was a year of trials and tribulations for me, but I have learned so much about myself. I went through a bad breakup, grieved the two-year anniversary of my husband’s passing, and then met a wonderful amazing man.  So in many ways, I have had a good year because I started the year happy, and I am ending it even happier than I ever imagined possible. Our relationship has gone so well, that in Mr eHarmony’s words, it’s “unnaturally natural”.

The two-year anniversary of my husband’s death was especially hard on me, harder than I expected it to be.  I never expected it to be as difficult as it was, and my mood was pretty sour for a couple of months because of that.  I’ve found that this anniversary was a LOT harder than the first, and all because the first year I think I was still in a fog somewhat.

2011 was a year of learning and experience for me, and I became such a different person this last half of the year.

I learned not to settle.  I learned that I DESERVE to be happy, and that I shouldn’t settle for less than what I deserve.  A lot had to happen for me to realize that, but I am so glad I know better now.

I’ve learned to speak up for what I believe is wrong.

I’ve learned not to take any crap from people.

I’ve learned that relationships are a two-part street, and that goes for friendships and relationships.  If one person is not making the effort, then walk away.  If they are meant to be in your life, then they will come back…if not, it’s their loss.  Probably seems a bit cold-hearted, but I really don’t care, and I won’t continue to make an effort if my efforts are not being reciprocated.  I’ve had this happen a few times this year actually.

I intend to make 2012 an amazing year, and it’s going to be the one where I finally break out of my shell.  I’ve been encased in a shell for years, and not until my husband died, did it finally start to crack, and the new me emerged bit by bit.  I’m looking forward to an amazing year with my kids, and a wonderful caring, loving man who has become my best friend. On a side note, if you are single…go join eHarmony.  Best decision I have made in a long time.  My $143 was very very well spent, and I landed up with a better man than I could have asked for.  Mr eHarmony has told me that he is going to see to it that I accomplish my goals, and help me break out of my shell, and I am so thankful for that.  I love having someone by my side that encourages me as he does, that supports me and loves me, and most importantly…believes in me.

2012 is the year where I am finally going to take control over my body and lose weight. I’m not counting numbers, I’m counting sizes. I want to lose 2-3 Jean sizes.  Two by my birthday in July.  Possibly more if I feel I need to, but I’d be happy with two!

2012 is the year that I’m going to whine and complain to Mr eHarmony as we are hiking every Saturday, but secretly loving every single second of it.  I can’t wait to finally accomplish this! And he already knows this, but what I am most looking forward to is completing my first hike, and standing at the top with him, and our arms around each other,  feeling a sense of peace, and pride that I DID IT with the man I love.

In 2012 I am going to ride my bike more, I am going to take more pictures, I am going to expand my photography business and make a concentrated effort to hone my skills.  I may possibly run a 5K.  I want to enjoy my kids more, and I want to cook more.

It’s time for ME to have my year, and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

