The Beginning Of Christmas

Today the kids and I made cinnamon applesauce ornaments, which I have tried to do every year since who knows when.  I have missed years, and especially the last two years as they have been especially chaotic for us.

I forgot how difficult these are to make.  The dough is extremely wet and needs copious amounts of cinnamon to hold it together, as well as a lot of tacky glue.  I probably used almost 3 cups of cinnamon for 1.5 cups of applesauce.  What really matters though, is that we had fun, and we made some great ornaments.  Now, we just have to hope they stay together and don’t fall apart!

This is the recipe I used, and basically I started with 1.5 cups each of cinnamon and applesauce.  Lots of glue too!  It just takes time to get the right balance, but eventually you will have a good sticky dough that holds its shape.

Here are the ornaments the kids and I made:

Make sure you use a toothpick or a small straw to poke a hole into the top of each ornament so that you can hang it by a ribbon when it is dry.   I think our next project might be to make salt dough ornaments, the ones that I made years ago are falling apart, and the dough is a lot more manageable than the cinnamon ones.  Plus, the kids get to paint those when they are dry.

We’ll also be decorating 2-3 gingerbread houses this year! That’s definitely a yearly tradition for us, and we look forward to it every December.

Leave a Reply

