Cooked Playdough…A Domestic Goddess, I Am

Today I had to make cooked playdough for my daughter’s kindergarten class.  Do you know how much it sucks forgetting to buy salt, and running out to safeway at 5PM in the pouring rain, with four kids, and wearing sloppy yoga pants and a t-shirt just to get said salt for the playdough?  Yep.  That was me.

The Playdough was a success though, and the recipe is super easy to follow.  I made two different batches.  I used Royal Blue and Leaf Green gel colorings from Wilton to color the water.  After making this, I really don’t know why I ever buy playdough for my kids.  This is a recipe from my childhood…my mom always made playdough for us.  We loved it!

Cooked Playdough

Ingredients:
2 cups of plain flour
1 Tbsp. of cooking oil
1 tsp. cream of tartar
2 cups of coloured water
1 cup of salt

Directions:
Place all of the ingredients in a medium size or large pan. Cook slowly on medium-high and stir it until the playdough thickens. Keeps best in the fridge in plastic containers.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cooked Playdough…A Domestic Goddess, I Am

  1. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

Leave a Reply

