Making Friends With Salad

Lately I’ve found that my lunch companion is a bowl of salad. Le sigh.

I never liked salad much when I was younger, but the last year or so I’ve really come to enjoy it.  I usually have either spring mix/spinach mixed up, or just plain spinach, grape tomatoes, snap peas, and chicken.  I can’t eat salad very well without chicken, it makes it much more palatable I think.  This is just one step I am taking towards a healthier me, and while it is boring and tedious, at least it seems to be working.

Cutting as much junk food out of my diet as I can really stinks.  I love chocolate.  I still eat it once in a while, but not too much really.  I’ve also tried to eat more frequently during the day, every few hours, and almonds are a favorite snack for me (raw almonds). And the biggest thing for me, is not eating after dinner.  I’ve slacked a few times on that, but I’m actually doing really well with it, and I am pretty proud of myself.

I haven’t noticed a lot of changes yet, but little things are starting to pop up here and there…. nicely rounded thigh muscles, a perkier bum, jeans fitting a lot better than they did, and shirts being more lose than they were just a few weeks ago.  And I’ve lost almost 12lbs since the end of august, which is just amazing!!

I still want to lose another 48lbs or so, and I’ll get there slowly but surely.  For those who don’t know me, I’ve already lost about 80 some odd pounds! I was really heavy before my husband died, and lost all that in the first year.  I’ve been stagnant since then, but last month I really decided it was time, and I made the effort.  For me, it’s not so much about the number (while it is great to see the scale go down), but about how my clothes fit.  I want to lose another 2-3 jean sizes.  I’ve already lost 5-6, depending on the jeans.

April is my goal!

Leave a Reply

