The Power of a Song

Do you remember two years ago when this song came out? I do.  I first heard it on my way to my friend Mimi’s house, and I loved it.  Now all it causes are bad memories I wish I could repress.

Only now, two years later, can I listen to this song. And even then, it’s still painful, and I avoid it as much as I can because I’d rather forget.  I figured though, that two years later, maybe it’s time to face my fears and listen to it.  So I did the other day, and as I sang along, I recalled everything in my head.

You see, two years ago was when I was driving to and from the hospital multiple times a day to see Barry, that song was on the radio constantly.  So all it does now is remind me of those awful trips I would make.  Every time I hear those opening notes, I’m transported back in time and I can see myself driving to the hospital.  I was almost like a robot, because the movements I would make were programmed into me out of memory. I just did it because I had to.

I can’t tell you how many trips I made to and from the hospital.  Countless.  The hospital is less than 10 minutes away from our last house, and this house we live in now, and I drove that route so often I could probably do it in the dark with my eyes shut even now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

